PSLA Committees

Committee Structure

  • Each committee will have two chairs plus a board liaison.
  • PSLA Members can volunteer to join a committee: Awards, Communications, Conference, Operations, or Teaching & Learning.
  • Task groups and coordinators will work on a specific task or duty within a committee.  Committee members are free to join short-term or long-term task groups. 
  • Co-chairs will identify and advertise task group opportunities.

Click Here to Volunteer to Serve on a Committee or Task Group!


Awards Committee 

Melissa (Daugherty) Janes Lauren Strohecker

Board Liaison: Craig McFeely

Contact: [email protected]

Sample Tasks:


Communications Committee

Corey Hall Kim Mento

Board Liaison: Mary Schwander

Contact: [email protected]

Sample Tasks:

    • Develop or curate content of messages to be shared with Association stakeholders
    • Disseminate information using appropriate delivery platforms

Legislation Task Group - PSLA Legislative Liaison - Deb Kachel


Conference Committee

Executive Director of Conference

Caitlin Linsenmann Sarah DeMaria
Incoming ED July 2019


Board Liaison and Co-chair: Robin Burns

Contact: [email protected]

Sample Tasks:

    • Planning Conference Schedule, Program, and Events
    • Registration
    • Sponsorships and Exhibits
    • Evaluation and Professional Act 48 Credits


Operations Committee


Bob McConnell Vickie Saltzer

Board Liaison: Aimee Emerson

Contact: [email protected]

Sample Tasks:

    • Governance
      • Maintain, monitor, and update the official records (ex. Articles of Incorporation, Constitution and Bylaws), documents (ex. archives, mission, vision, and strategic plan) and inventory associated with the governing of the Association.
    • Membership
      • Maintain the official membership file and collection of dues
      • Advise the Board on matters related to membership structure and dues
      • Maintain subscriptions to PSLA Listserv
      • Collect data on the status of school library programs within the Commonwealth
    • Leadership Development
      • Identify and develop leadership within the Association
      • Conduct nominations and elections in accordance with the provisions in the Constitution and Bylaws of the Association

Membership Task Group - Allison Burrell and Lindsey Long - [email protected]

Listserv/E-list Task Group - Nancy Latanision


 Teaching & Learning Committee


Dustin Brackbill Leah Lindemann

Board Liaison: Ann Schmidt

Contact: [email protected]

Sample Tasks

    • Develop, review and inform members about content related to teaching and learning
      • Curriculum
      • Standards (academic standards, program standards, certification standards)
      • Diverse Learners
      • Teacher Effectiveness
      • Digital Resources (apps, websites, management tools) 
      • Library Administration
      • Promotional Events
    • Deliver content related to teaching and learning utilizing various platforms

Teaching and Learning Standing Task Group - Leadership Academies - Project Director, Dr. Mary Kay Biagini